media release 


22 November 2021    


The search is on for Australia's best nurses and midwives


HESTA has begun its national search for Australia’s most exceptional nurses and midwives by today opening nominations for the 2022 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards.


For 16 years the national Awards have recognised the nurses, midwives, nurse educators, researchers and personal care workers who are improving health outcomes by providing outstanding care and support for Australians in need.


HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said nurses and midwives have been essential to keeping communities healthy and safe, particularly as the nation continues to battle the COVID-19 outbreak.


“Nurses and midwives have been so critical to our ongoing recovery from COVID-19. We wouldn’t be where we are today without them,” Ms Blakey said.


“The positive impact they have had, and will continue to have, on patients’ lives is humbling. HESTA is truly honoured to help recognise these wonderful and dedicated professionals and help share their stories.


“I encourage all Australians to consider submitting a nomination and help show support for nurses and midwives and their achievements.”


Employers, colleagues and patients have until 6 February 2022 to nominate a nursing or midwifery professional who has demonstrated leadership, innovation and pursued excellence to deliver high-quality patient care.


Longstanding Awards supporter, ME – the bank for you, is providing the $30,000 prize pool, to be split equally between the winners of each category – Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.


“Nurses, midwives, personal care workers and those who train them are pivotal to the nation, and we have been reminded of that now more than ever as the COVID-19 pandemic continues on,” ME CEO Martine Jager said.


“The ME team and I offer the utmost praise to all the future finalists for their tireless and crucial contributions to healthcare.”


Finalists will be announced on 12 April 2022 and winners revealed at the Awards ceremony in Melbourne on 19 May 2022, pending COVID-19 safety restrictions.


For more information or to submit a nomination, visit


2021 winners:


Nurse of the Year

Shannon Philp
Chris O’Brien Lifehouse and Susan Wakil School of Nursing and Midwifery, The University of Sydney

Shannon Philp was recognised for her contribution to nursing education and patient-centred care, particularly for women with gynaecological cancers.


Midwife of the Year

Janelle Dillon
Bega Garnbirringu Health Service

Janelle Dillon was recognised for her tireless work to create a safe space for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women to receive pregnancy care in Kalgoorlie, WA.


Outstanding Organisation

Ramsay Health Care Australia

Ramsay Health Care Australia was recognised for their work to improve environmental sustainability across its facilities, including through cutting down greenhouse gas emissions and single-use plastics.




Media contact:

Sam Riley

General Manager Media Relations

(03) 8660 1684


Back to Media Centre