media release


14 December 2020


HESTA calls for support of nurses and midwives in national awards


HESTA is calling on Australians to show their appreciation and support for the nation’s nurses and midwives by submitting a nomination to the 2021 HESTA Australian Nursing and Midwifery Awards.


Heading into its 15th year, the Awards recognise nurses, midwives, nurse educators, researchers and personal care workers for their outstanding work to provide exceptional care, leading the way for improved health outcomes.


HESTA CEO Debby Blakey said the COVID-19 pandemic has further demonstrated the immense impact these professionals have in keeping communities healthy and safe.


“Our nurses and midwives are the backbone of our community; they deserve to be recognised,” Ms Blakey said.


“The global COVID-19 outbreak has highlighted the incredible work and dedication of our healthcare professionals, who have gone above and beyond to deliver quality patient care during a very difficult time.


“Nominating in these Awards is an opportunity to show support for and give thanks to all our nurses and midwives and acknowledge their hard work and achievements.”


Colleagues, patients and employers have until 7 February 2021 to nominate a nursing or midwifery professional who has demonstrated leadership, innovation and pursued excellence to deliver high-quality patient care.


Longstanding Awards sponsor, ME – the bank for you, is donating the $30,000 prize pool, to be split equally between the winners of each category – Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.


ME Bank Acting CEO Adam Crane said the organisation was incredibly proud to have supported nurses and midwives through the Awards program since 2007.


“This is such an important award. It recognises the unsung heroes, the local legends who help us at every stage of our lives – from birth to old age. We applaud every one of this year’s future nominees,” Mr Crane said.


Finalists will be announced on 6 April 2021 and winners revealed at the Awards ceremony in Melbourne on 6 May 2021, pending COVID-19 safety restrictions.


For more information or to submit a nomination, visit


The 2020 winners are:


Nurse of the Year

Tania Green
Plastic Surgery Unit, Monash Health
Clayton VIC

Tania was recognised for her work to improve care for patients with cleft and craniofacial conditions and their families, supporting more than 500 patients as the clinical nurse coordinator for Monash Health’s Cleft and Craniofacial Unit.


Midwife of the Year

Cassandra Nest
Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service & Griffith University 
Southport QLD

Cassandra was recognised for her dedication to improving the delivery of culturally safe, quality maternity care to more Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people on the Gold Coast, particularly through the implementation of the Waijungbah Jarjums Service.


Outstanding Organisation

Ovarian Cancer Australia

Ovarian Cancer Australia was recognised for its research, advocacy and support for women affected by ovarian cancer, especially its work to reduce the prevalence of ovarian cancer and improve early detection and survival rates.




Media contact:

Sam Riley

General Manager - Media Relations

(03) 8660 1684


Back to Media Centre