media release 


24 June 2019


Nominations now open for HESTA Aged Care Awards


Now is the time to recognise those making an outstanding contribution to aged care in Australia by nominating them for the 2019 HESTA Aged Care Awards.

Presented by HESTA in partnership with the National Aged Care Alliance, the national Awards recognise excellence in service provision, advocacy, leadership and innovation in the aged care sector.

Nominations are being sought from employers, colleagues, recipients of care and family members and are open until 18 August 2019.

HESTA CEO, Debby Blakey, said the Awards are an opportunity to celebrate aged care professionals and teams who have shown outstanding levels professional excellence and dedication to improving the quality of life of ageing Australians.

“Through their work aged care professionals and teams around Australia are enhancing the wellbeing and health outcomes of their clients and making a vital contribution to the community.”

Ms Blakey encouraged people to nominate an individual or team, giving recognition to their exceptional work in the sector.

“Submitting a nomination is an opportunity to acknowledge the achievements of those working in aged care, who demonstrate leadership, contribute to innovative practices and uphold the highest level of professionalism.”

ME – the bank for you – a longstanding Awards sponsor, are generously providing a $30,000 prize pool, to be divided among the winners in three award categories — Outstanding Organisation, Team Innovation and Individual Distinction.

ME CEO Jamie McPhee said the bank was incredibly honoured to help bring recognition to the outstanding work of early childhood professionals.

“Aged Care professionals provide a service vital to the Australian community. They are challenging roles that are also often under-recognised, which is why these awards are so important in shining a spotlight on the exceptional work they do,” said Mr McPhee.

“ME is incredibly honoured to have been supporting the HESTA Awards since 2007, and we hope to continue doing so for many years to come.”

Winners will receive $10,000 in towards further education or team development.

The 2019 finalists will be announced on 15 October 2019 and interstate finalists will be flown to Adelaide for the Awards dinner on 14 November 2019.

To submit a nomination visit

The 2018 winners were:

Team Innovation Award

Geriatric Flying Squad
Uniting War Memorial Hospital
Waverly, NSW

Awarded for designing a referral system for NSW emergency services reducing unnecessary hospitalisations of older patients.  

Individual Distinction Award

Yulunda Matau
Amana Living James Brown Care Centre
Osborne Park, WA

Awarded for her outstanding work in driving the cultural and business transformation of Amana Living’s residential aged care home the James Brown Care Centre, which has a high proportion of residents who come from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Outstanding Organisation Award

Flemington, VIC

Awarded for their outstanding contribution to the social justice of ageing Australians experiencing homelessness in Victoria through community outreach, housing support, aged care and referral services.

Media contact:

Sam Riley

Media Relations Manager

(03) 8660 1684


Back to Media Centre