media release


20 December 2019


Nominations open: 2020 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards  


If you know a nurse or midwife doing outstanding work who deserves recognition, now is the time to nominate them for the 2020 HESTA Australian Nursing & Midwifery Awards.

The Awards recognise nurses, midwives, nurse educators, and researchers as well as personal care workers for their outstanding performance and achievements in providing exceptional care and leading the way for improvements across a range of health settings.

Nominations for the Awards are being sought from colleagues, patients, and employers and are open until 9 February.

HESTA CEO, Debby Blakey said the awards were a great opportunity to celebrate and recognise the outstanding work of nursing and midwifery professionals from around the country.

“With 2020 being the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife, the national awards are a fantastic opportunity to shine a spotlight on the amazing achievements of nursing and midwifery professionals from around Australia,” said Ms Blakey.

“Submitting a nomination is an opportunity to acknowledge the achievements of individuals and organisations working in nursing or midwifery who have demonstrated leadership, innovation and pursued excellence to deliver exceptional care.”

Longstanding Awards sponsor ME – the bank for you, are generously providing the $30,000 prize pool, to be divided among the winners in the three award categories — Nurse of the Year, Midwife of the Year and Outstanding Organisation.

Winners will receive $10,000 towards further education or team development.

ME CEO Jamie McPhee said the bank was incredibly honoured to help bring recognition to nursing and midwifery professionals.

“Nurses and midwives deliver vital health care services to the Australian community. They are challenging roles that are also often under-recognised, which is why these awards are so important in shining a spotlight on the exceptional work they do,” said Mr McPhee.

The finalists will be announced on 7 April 2020 and interstate finalists will be flown to Melbourne for the Awards dinner on 6 May 2020.

To submit a nomination visit

The 2019 winners were:

Nurse of the Year

Professor Kate Curtis
Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District & Professor of Trauma and Emergency, University of Sydney
Wollongong, NSW

Recognised for her work advocating to improve emergency hospital care across Australia and internationally, particularly for injured children.

Midwife of the Year

Tracey Stephens
Monash Health
Clayton, VIC

Recognised for her work in improving maternity and health care outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women and babies by implementing culturally appropriate and safe maternity health care services.

Team Excellence

Calvary Public Hospital Bruce – Clare Holland House
Barton, ACT

Recognised for developing, trialling and testing a new integrated model of palliative care delivery for aged care residents with life-limiting illnesses.



Media contact:

Sam Riley

Media Relations Manager

(03) 8660 1684


Back to Media Centre