Gallery - HESTA Aged Care Awards

This year we'll recognise the contribution of teams and organisations who work tirelessly to improve the quality of life of ageing Australians in their homes, retirement villages and aged care facilities at the inaugural HESTA Excellence Awards.

Excellence awards


A story worth celebrating

Read about the finalists of the 2019 HESTA Aged Care Awards.

Read about the finalists

Awards Dinner

The 2019 Awards were held at the Adelaide Convention & Exhibition Centre on November 14.

See the winners


The 2020 HESTA Excellence Awards winners will share a $60,000 prize pool, courtesy of ME- the bank for you.

Terms and conditions


Relive the excitement of the 2019 HESTA Aged Care Awards dinner.




Nominations are now closed

Winners of the 2019 HESTA Aged Care Awards were announced in Adelaide on 14 November 2019.

2019 winners

Team Innovation

The Student Placement Team from ACH Group were awarded for attracting more nursing students to work in aged care.

Read their story

Outstanding Organisation

The Village Dentist were awarded for providing preventative dental care and promoting the wellbeing of aged care residents.

Read their story

Individual Distinction

Tut Khoryom Nyuon was awarded for his work as a Personal Care Assistant (PCA) working to improve the wellbeing of residents.

Read Tut's story

Outstanding Organisation

The Village Dentist





Woombye CARE

Team Innovation

Student Placement Team, ACH Group



Advance Care Planning Team

Cherished Pets Team

From Seed to Plate

Individual Distinction

Tut Khoryom Nyuon




Andrew Roma

Cath Bush

Claire Roach

Natalie Pirret

Outstanding Organisation




Ridleyton Greek Home for the Aged

STAR Community Services

The Whiddon Group

Team Innovation

Geriatric Flying Squad



Hero's Wish

Meeting Centre Support Program


Individual Distinction

Yulunda Matau



Annette Nuck

Jason Bragg

Keith Cameron Smith

Leanne Shannon

Leanne Smart

Outstanding Organisation

Southern Cross Care (SA &  NT)



Lifeview Residential Care

Vasey RSL Care

Team Innovation

Aged Care Indigenous Induction Program



Comfort Care Centre

Exercise Physiology in Aged Care Team

Specialist Dialysis Team

Leisure and Lifestyle Team

Individual Distinction

Gordon Manuel



Anna Harrison

Sandra Gilbert

Sara Marmo

Outstanding Organisation

Southern Cross Care (SA & NT)



Atticus Health

Feros Care

Lifeview Residential Care

Maurice Zeffert Home


Team Innovation

Sub-Acute Care Program



Bloomers Cafe

Flametree Dementia Care Project

Manager in Training Program

Vietnam Veterans Social Group


Individual Distinction

Camille Koch



Stanka Cica

Liz Drew

Himanshu Singh


Outstanding Organisation

Southern Cross Care (Vic)



Montessori Ageing Support Services

Synovum Care Pty Ltd

Anam Cara House Colac- Community Hospice

Co.As.It. Community Services Inc

Team Innovation

A safe place to call home @ Charles O'Neill Hostel


Holistic Wellness Program @ Southern Cross Care Keon Park

The Companion Therapy @ Bupa Aged Care Berwick

Stronger Carers @ BaptistCare NSW & ACT

Identify Pain: Ask, Observe, Report @ Wesley Mission Brisbane



Individual Distinction

Paul Brophy



Helen Spence

Henry Pan OAM

Sheryl Cain

Frank Naso


Team Innovation Award

Better Together Cottage Team



Creating Connections Project Team

Gopher Gold Team

Killira Team

Safe Access & Eco Garden Project Team


Outstanding Organisation Award

RSL Care



Anam Cara

Bushland Health Group

Seniors Recreation Council 

The Whiddon Group


Individual Distinction Award

Helen Williamson



Kelly Jackson

Lisa Wu

Lorraine Eastwood

Sharon Henderson