Gallery - HESTA Aged Care Awards

The HESTA Aged Care Awards recognise aged care professionals who work tirelessly to improve the quality of life of ageing Australians in their homes, retirement villages and aged care facilities.

See the winners


A story worth celebrating...

Do you know an aged care worker with a story worth celebrating? Nominate them for the 2017 Awards.

Nominations open July 7

Awards Dinner

The 2016 Awards ceremony was held on Thursday, 4 August at the Hotel Realm, Canberra.

Ticket sales now closed


Winners will share a $30,000 prize pool, courtesy of ME- the bank for you.

Terms and conditions



Nominations are now closed

Nominations for the 2017 Awards will open on July 7.

Award categories

Outstanding organisation

This award recognises an organisation which has made an outstanding contribution to aged care in Australia, through development or provision of high quality care to the aged.

Eligibility criteria

Team Innovation

This award recognises a team working within the aged care sector who have made an exceptional contribution to aged care service in Australia, through development of an innovative service or process.

Eligibility criteria

Individual Distinction

This award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to aged care in Australia over time, through development or provision of high quality care to the aged.

Eligibility criteria

Who can enter?


Recipients of care, carers, colleagues, and aged care professionals themselves can nominate a special individual, team or organisation. Everyone involved in every stage of the delivery of aged care can enter or be nominated.




Every person or team nominated will receive a certificate in recognition of their contributions.

Terms and conditions


Finalists receive two tickets to attend the Awards dinner.

Terms and conditions


Overall winners share in a $30,000 prize pool, courtesy of ME- the bank for you.

Terms and conditions




This year's winners and finalists epitomise outstanding standards of care and the highest levels of commitment to the quality of life of ageing Australians.

2016 winners

Outstanding Organisation

Southern Cross Care launched Health & Wellness Centres (gyms) in 13 residential care homes providing individualised fitness programs aimed at improving residents’ strength, fitness and general wellbeing.

Read their story

Team Innovation

PresCare's pilot program to better manage clinical deterioration in residents has helped avoid unnecessary hospitalisation while maintaining high standards of quality care.

Read their story

Individual Distinction

Registered Nurse Camille Koch established a multi-disciplinary Wounds Resource Team — leading to improved practice, a reduction in the severity of wounds and better documentation.

Read Camille's story

Outstanding Organisation

Southern Cross Care



Atticus Health

Feros Care

Lifeview Residential Care

Maurice Zeffert Home


Team Innovation

Sub-Acute Care Program



Bloomers Cafe

Flametree Dementia Care Project

Manager in Training Program

Vietnam Veterans Social Group


Individual Distinction

Camille Koch



Stanka Cica

Liz Drew

Himanshu Singh


Team Innovation Award

Better Together Cottage Team



Creating Connections Project Team

Gopher Gold Team

Killira Team

Safe Access & Eco Garden Project Team


Outstanding Organisation Award

RSL Care



Anam Cara

Bushland Health Group

Seniors Recreation Council 

The Whiddon Group


Individual Distinction Award

Helen Williamson



Kelly Jackson

Lisa Wu

Lorraine Eastwood

Sharon Henderson

Employee Award

Rhonda Sawtell



Kacey Hancock

Greg Crawford

Kimberly Harris

Janteena Gillam

Patrick Comarmond


Volunteer Award

Shirley Nelson



Diane Bynon

Brenton Griffiths

Barbara Newman

Laura Aguis

Fred Drake-Brockman


Trainee Award

Abby Dunnicliff



Brooke Greentree-Kent

Jamie Steinberger

Amelia Watkins

Linda Shillong

Terri Roberts


Organisation Award

Silver Chain Nursing Association



Feros Care

Feros Care Ltd - Technology

SA & NT Guide Dogs

Emmerton Park

Bupa Bellarine





Relive the excitement of the 2016 HESTA Australian Aged Care Awards Ceremony.