Primary health care awards

The HESTA Primary Health Care Awards recognise the dedication and professionalism of those working in primary health care.

Buy tickets


A story worth celebrating...

Do you know someone in primary health care with a story worth celebrating?

Nominations closed

Awards Dinner

The 2017 event will be held at the Sydney ICC on Sunday, 27 August.

Buy tickets


Winners will share a $30,000 prize pool courtesy of proud Awards sponsor ME- the bank for you.

Terms and conditions



Nominations now closed

Finalists will be announced on 25 July 2017.

Award categories

Young Leader

This award highlights the selfless dedication of a young leader who displays exceptional mentoring qualities.

Eligibility criteria

Individual Distinction

This award recognises primary health care workers who have displayed a vision for the future, have delivered positive outcomes and have gone beyond the expectations of their role.

Eligibility criteria

Team Excellence

This award acknowledges the achievements of primary health care teams that have demonstrated innovation by way of a collaborative and inclusive approach to their work.

Eligibility criteria

Who can nominate?


Australia’s primary health care services are the first we turn to when we are sick or injured.

These awards recognise the dedication and professionalism of those working in primary health care including health educators, medical practice managers, rehabilitation professionals, physiotherapists, osteopaths, dentists, pharmacists, GPs and other related therapists.

Patients, carers, colleagues, and primary health care workers can nominate themselves or a special individual or team who has made a real difference to the lives of patients or to the quality of a service.

Everyone involved in every stage of the delivery of care can enter or be nominated.




Every person or organisation nominated will receive a certificate in recognition of their contributions.

Terms and conditions


Finalists receive two tickets to attend the Awards dinner.

Terms and conditions


Winners will share a $30,000 prize pool, courtesy of proud Awards sponsor ME- the bank for you.

Terms and conditions




The HESTA Primary Health Care Awards epitomise outstanding standards of care and the highest levels of commitment to the primary health care profession.

2015 winners

Young Leader

Matthew Simpson was named the Young Leader winner for his work in driving greater patient care through mentoring, training and improving processes for paramedics.

Read Matthew's story

Individual Distinction

Don Palmer of the Malpa Project was named the Individual Distinction Award winner for an initiative that trains Indigenous children to be health ambassadors in their communities.

Read Don's story

Team Excellence

Boab Health Services, a podiatry tream in the Kimberley, was named the Team Excellence Award winner.

Read their story

Young Leader

Nicole Cockburn

Bertrand Doeuk

Ryan Ebert

Nicole Pates

Nicholas Schuster

Team Excellence

The Healthy Lifestyle Team and #HerTribe, Victorian Aboriginal Health Service

Austin Aphasia Integration Program, Royal Talbot Rehabilitation Centre, Austin Health Melbourne

Lymphoedema Senior Management and Clinical Team, Calvary Public Hospital Bruce

Mars Clinic for Children's Continence, Mars Clinic

Paediatric Disability Rehab Team, NAPA Centre Pty Ltd


Individual Distinction

Teresa DiFranco

Dr Pamela Douglas

Peter Georgilopoulos

Dr Claire Jones

Clare MacFarlane



Young Leader

Jonathan Ford



Dr Abhi Varshney

Terry Tierney

Megan Somerville

Joanne Turner


Individual Distinction

Dr Julie Thompson



Dr I-Hao Cheng

Dr Vivienne Tedeschi

Simon Ruth

Dr Dale Ford

Team Excellence

WDNWPT - Purple House



Close The Gap & the BE PROUD card

Australian College of Optometry Outreach Programs

Toowoomba Diabetes Specialist Service Centre

Community Kitchens


Outstanding Graduate 

Annabel Pike


Louise Davis

Melissa Coventry

Stuart Broadbridge

Zoe Golds

Team Innovation

Understanding Dementia 


Cyril Jewel House's MS Care Model

Iona Medical Centre

Nurse of the Year

Sara Lohmeyer


Faye Alvoen

Janet Lees

Ria Akuhata

Sara Lohmeyer

Tim Neate





2015 HESTA Primary Health Care Awards

Relive the excitement of the 2015 dinner.