leadership team

Our CEO, Executive Management and committed team of professionals are dedicated to helping members achieve their best retirement outcomes. Our executives report to a Board of Trustees - who are leaders in health and community services.

HESTA is run by a trustee company called H.E.S.T. Australia Limited.


Trustee Board


HESTA Trustee Directors (as at 01/01/2019)

The Honourable Nicola Roxon

Independent Chair

Mark Burgess

Independent Director
Employer Appointees

Klaus Zimmermann

(Deputy Chair)
Aged and Community Services Australia 

Catherine Smith

Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS)

Daniel Sims

Australian Private Hospitals Association (APHA)

Dr Deborah Cole

Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association (AHHA)

Gary Humphrys

Catholic Health Australia (CHA)

Dr Saranne Cooke

Leading Age Services Australia (LASA)
Employee Appointees

Lloyd Williams

(Deputy Chair)
Health Services Union (HSU)

Anna Claude

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (ANMF)

David Smith

Australian Services Union (ASU)

Helen Gibbons

United Voice

Lori-Anne Sharp

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (ANMF)

Sophie Ismail

Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)


CEO and Executive Management




Debby Blakey

Executive Management Team

Lisa Samuels

Executive - Marketing & People

Matthew Halpin

Executive - Member Engagement

Megan Bolton

Executive - Finance & Corporate Services 

Neil Saxton

Executive - Partnership Engagement

Stephen Reilly

Chief Operating Officer (COO)

Sonya Sawtell-Rickson

Chief Investment Officer (CIO)